VALARTH Open the screenerOpen in app
Who builds India

Who generates India's electricity

The listed companies behind it.

12 listed companies earned ₹313,638 crore from selling electricity in FY26, down 0.8% on FY25. NTPC Ltd earned the most, 58.2% of it. Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd earned the most on each rupee of sales: 86.5%.

Share
Listed companies' sales, FY26
₹313,638 Cr
down 0.8% on FY25
Largest seller
58.2%
NTPC Ltd
Best margin
86.5%
Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd
Fastest growing, 3 years
+0.7%
NHPC Ltd

Who sells the most

Share of the listed companies' sales, FY26
NTPC Ltd₹182,610 Cr · 97% of its sales
58.2%
Adani Power Ltd₹54,241 Cr · 100% of its sales
17.3%
Adani Energy Solutions Ltd₹13,541 Cr · 49% of its sales Distribution 92% · Trading 8%
4.3%
JSW Energy Ltd₹13,212 Cr · 70% of its sales
4.2%
NHPC Ltd₹11,615 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.7%
Tata Power Company Ltd₹10,817 Cr · 17% of its sales
3.4%
NLC India Ltd₹10,541 Cr · 60% of its sales
3.4%
Vedanta Ltd₹8,961 Cr · 11% of its sales
2.9%
Torrent Power Ltd₹6,541 Cr · 23% of its sales
2.1%
Tata Steel Ltd₹1,397 Cr (estimate) · 1% of its sales
0.4%
Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd₹94 Cr · 2% of its sales
0.0%
Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd₹68 Cr (estimate) · 0% of its sales
0.0%

NTPC Ltd had 58.2% of the listed companies' revenue from selling electricity here, 3.4 times as much as Adani Power Ltd, the next largest. The two together sold 76%; the other 10 the rest.

From each company's own sales figures for this kind of product (its reported segment, or its whole sales where that is all it sells). Private makers are not counted, so this is the split among listed companies, not the whole market. An estimate is the share of turnover the company gives this product line in its sustainability report, times its own sales for the year, where its segments do not split it out.

What it is made of

Sales by product line, FY26
Thermal power₹286,990 Cr
91.5%
Hydro power₹11,615 Cr
3.7%
Not reported by product₹15,032 Cr
4.8%

Of the sales reported by product line, thermal power is the largest at ₹2.87 lakh Cr, then hydro power at ₹11,615 Cr.

Where a company reports its product lines separately. "Not reported by product" is sales a company reports only as a whole.

How the sales have grown, and who sold them

Revenue from selling electricity each financial year in ₹ crore (L = lakh crore), the change on the year before above each column
NHPC Ltd, FY19: ₹10,760 Cr ₹10,760 Cr FY19 NHPC Ltd, FY20: ₹10,942 Cr ₹10,942 Cr+2% FY20 NHPC Ltd, FY21: ₹10,947 Cr ₹10,947 Cr+0% FY21 NHPC Ltd, FY22: ₹10,169 Cr ₹10,169 Cr-7% FY22 NHPC Ltd, FY23: ₹11,386 Cr6 others, FY23: ₹2,450 Cr ₹13,836 Cr+36% FY23 NHPC Ltd, FY24: ₹11,703 Cr6 others, FY24: ₹3,099 Cr ₹14,802 Cr+7% FY24 NTPC Ltd, FY25: ₹1.84 lakh Cr1.84LAdani Power Ltd, FY25: ₹56,107 Cr56,107Adani Energy Solutions Ltd, FY25: ₹13,647 CrJSW Energy Ltd, FY25: ₹7,942 CrNHPC Ltd, FY25: ₹10,380 CrTata Power Company Ltd, FY25: ₹18,392 Cr6 others, FY25: ₹14,573 Cr ₹3.05 lakh Cr+1964% FY25 NTPC Ltd, FY26: ₹1.83 lakh Cr1.83LAdani Power Ltd, FY26: ₹54,241 Cr54,241Adani Energy Solutions Ltd, FY26: ₹13,541 CrJSW Energy Ltd, FY26: ₹13,212 CrNHPC Ltd, FY26: ₹11,615 CrTata Power Company Ltd, FY26: ₹10,817 Cr6 others, FY26: ₹27,602 Cr27,602 ₹3.14 lakh Cr+3% FY26
NTPC LtdAdani Power LtdAdani Energy Solutions LtdJSW Energy LtdNHPC LtdTata Power Company Ltd6 others

The listed companies here earned ₹3.14 lakh Cr from selling electricity in FY26. Counting only the companies with figures in both years, sales went from ₹10,760 Cr in FY19 to ₹11,615 Cr. The biggest rise was in FY23 (+12%) and the weakest year FY25 (-20%). NTPC Ltd's part of the total went from 60% in FY25 to 58% in FY26. Over three years NHPC Ltd grew fastest, +0.7% a year. Some companies are counted only from a later year (NTPC Ltd from FY25; Adani Power Ltd from FY25; Adani Energy Solutions Ltd from FY25; JSW Energy Ltd from FY25; Tata Power Company Ltd from FY25; NLC India Ltd from FY26; Vedanta Ltd from FY25; Torrent Power Ltd from FY25; Tata Steel Ltd from FY23; Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd from FY25; Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd from FY24).

Counted from the first year their figures for this are available: NTPC Ltd from FY25; Adani Power Ltd from FY25; Adani Energy Solutions Ltd from FY25; JSW Energy Ltd from FY25; Tata Power Company Ltd from FY25; NLC India Ltd from FY26; Vedanta Ltd from FY25; Torrent Power Ltd from FY25; Tata Steel Ltd from FY23; Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd from FY25; Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd from FY24. A jump in that year is partly that.

Who earns the most on each rupee

Operating profit as a share of revenue from selling electricity, each financial year
0%27%55%FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26 NTPC Ltd: 23.1%NTPC Ltd: 22.1%22.1% Adani Power Ltd: 29.5%Adani Power Ltd: 29.1%29.1% Adani Energy Solutions Ltd: 0.2%Adani Energy Solutions Ltd: 9.8%9.8% JSW Energy Ltd: 23.4%JSW Energy Ltd: 33.1%33.1% NHPC Ltd: 38.7%NHPC Ltd: 29.8%NHPC Ltd: 41.1%NHPC Ltd: 31.6%NHPC Ltd: 46.0%NHPC Ltd: 42.9%NHPC Ltd: 54.7%NHPC Ltd: 37.3%37.3% Tata Power Company Ltd: 20.7%Tata Power Company Ltd: 18.2%18.2%
NTPC LtdAdani Power LtdAdani Energy Solutions LtdJSW Energy LtdNHPC LtdTata Power Company Ltd

Operating profit before interest and tax, as a share of revenue from selling electricity. NTPC Ltd earned 22.1% on its sales in FY26, against 23.1% in FY25. Adani Power Ltd earned 29.1% on its sales in FY26, against 29.5% in FY25. Adani Energy Solutions Ltd earned 9.8% on its sales in FY26, against 0.2% in FY25. JSW Energy Ltd earned 33.1% on its sales in FY26, against 23.4% in FY25. NHPC Ltd earned 37.3% on its sales in FY26, against 41.6% in FY17; its best year was FY25 at 54.7%. Tata Power Company Ltd earned 18.2% on its sales in FY26, against 20.7% in FY25.

The companies, and their brands

Company and brandsSales FY26Growth 1 yr3 yrs5 yrsMarginProfit shareReturn on assetsP/EROEShare price 1 yr
NTPC Ltd ₹182,610 Cr -1.0% — — 22.1% 55.8% 8.3% 10.9 13.8% -7.6%
Adani Power Ltd ₹54,241 Cr -3.3% — — 29.1% 21.8% 11.3% 25.2 22.1% +20.1%
Adani Energy Solutions Ltd ₹13,541 Cr -0.8% — — 9.8% 1.8% 5.7% 53.4 2.8% +38.9%
JSW Energy Ltd ₹13,212 Cr +66.4% — — 33.1% 6.0% 12.1% 41.1 3.7% -14.9%
NHPC Ltd ₹11,615 Cr +11.9% +0.7% +1.2% 37.3% 6.0% — 20.8 12.8% -13.9%
Tata Power Company Ltd
Sells in 19 states and 7 countries; exports 0.3% of turnover
₹10,817 Cr -41.2% — — 18.2% 2.7% 4.7% 28.5 6.1% -11.9%
NLC India Ltd ₹10,541 Cr — — — 20.0% 2.9% 5.0% 12.2 7.2% -7.9%
Vedanta Ltd ₹8,961 Cr +46.5% — — 11.6% 1.4% 6.0% 9.3 17.3% -46.6%
Torrent Power Ltd
Sells in 11 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹6,541 Cr -5.6% — — 15.8% 1.4% 23.4% 25.8 14.1% -8.2%
Tata Steel Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 66 countries; exports 8.0% of turnover
₹1,397 Cr
estimate
+5.4% -17.1% — — — — 19.8 9.7% +2.6%
Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd
Sells in 25 states and 61 countries; exports 31.54% of turnover
₹94 Cr -8.7% — — 86.5% 0.1% 81.4% 41.4 18.1% +41.6%
Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd
Sells in 18 states and 3 countries; exports 5.61% of turnover
₹68 Cr
estimate
-29.8% — — — — — 20.5 35.1% +36.9%
Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source. Growth is the yearly rate of its revenue from selling electricity. Margin is the operating profit (before interest and tax) the company reports on them, as a share of those sales; profit share is its part of all the listed companies' profit on them; return on assets is that profit against the assets it reports for them. A company with no other business is measured on its whole accounts. Where a company's segments include sales between its own businesses (a bank's treasury lending to its retail arm), each segment is scaled down in proportion so that together they match what the company earns outside itself; companies report those internal sales only as a total. Not a recommendation to buy or sell.

Also sold by

These companies report this together with other businesses, so their figures are not counted above
Inside the app

See every one of these companies in Valarth

Start freeStart free
A Valarth stock page: the share price with its chart and 52-week range, valuation and profitability figures, and a scorecard of health checks.
Stock pagePrice, valuation, profitability and a scorecard of health checks for every company, each figure explained.
The Valarth stock screener: a table of companies with price, market cap, P/E, P/B, PEG, EPS and ROE, and filters down the left.
ScreenerEvery listed company, filtered on 212 figures, each with a plain-language lesson beside it.
The Valarth AI Screener answering 'Which companies will benefit from India's Project 75 submarine programme?' with a basket of four naval shipbuilders and a written thesis.
AI ScreenerAsk a question in plain English, like which companies benefit from India's Project 75. It reads the intent, builds the screen and writes the thesis.
A Valarth business-model card for State Bank of India, with a plain-language summary and statements verified against the filing.
Business modelHow a company makes money and what can hurt it, each statement checked against its annual report.
Valarth's Before the Bell edition, with the day's headline, regulator notes and sector moves.
Before the BellA morning edition before the market opens: what moved, which rule changed, and what it means for your holdings.
Share or embed this page
A link posted on X, Reddit, LinkedIn or WhatsApp shows this picture as its preview. The embedded picture always shows the latest figures.

Questions people ask

Who generates India's electricity?

12 listed companies report their revenue from selling electricity: NTPC Ltd (NTPC), Adani Power Ltd (ADANIPOWER), Adani Energy Solutions Ltd (ADANIENSOL), JSW Energy Ltd (JSWENERGY), NHPC Ltd (NHPC), Tata Power Company Ltd (TATAPOWER), NLC India Ltd (NLCINDIA), Vedanta Ltd (VEDL). 2 more sell them but report them together with other products.

Which listed company earns the most from selling electricity in India?

NTPC Ltd, with revenue from selling electricity of ₹182,610 crore in FY26: 58.2% of the listed companies' total here.

How much do listed companies earn from selling electricity?

The listed companies here earned ₹313,638 crore from selling electricity in FY26, down 0.8% on FY25. Private makers are not included.

Which listed company makes the most profit from selling electricity?

Himadri Speciality Chemical Ltd: its operating profit was 86.5% of its revenue from selling electricity in FY26.