VALARTH Open the screenerOpen in app
Who builds India

Who builds India's solar and wind power

The listed companies behind it.

16 listed companies earned ₹106,621 crore from solar and wind power in FY26, up 45.6% on FY25. Waaree Energies Ltd earned the most, 25.7% of it. ACME Solar Holdings Ltd earned the most on each rupee of sales: 89.0%.

Share
Listed companies' sales, FY26
₹106,621 Cr
up 45.6% on FY25
Largest seller
25.7%
Waaree Energies Ltd
Best margin
89.0%
ACME Solar Holdings Ltd
Fastest growing, 3 years
+155.7%
NTPC Green Energy Ltd

Who sells the most

Share of the listed companies' sales, FY26
Waaree Energies Ltd₹27,449 Cr · 103% of its sales Solar modules and cells 88% · Solar power 12% · Solar power 0%
25.7%
Suzlon Energy Ltd₹16,091 Cr · 96% of its sales Wind turbines 85% · Operation & Maintenance Service 15%
15.1%
Adani Enterprises Ltd₹15,023 Cr · 15% of its sales
14.1%
Tata Power Company Ltd₹13,970 Cr · 22% of its sales
13.1%
Adani Green Energy Ltd₹11,105 Cr · 86% of its sales
10.4%
Premier Energies Ltd₹7,824 Cr · 100% of its sales
7.3%
JSW Energy Ltd₹5,626 Cr · 30% of its sales
5.3%
NTPC Green Energy Ltd₹2,858 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.7%
GAIL (India) Ltd₹2,774 Cr (estimate) · 2% of its sales
2.6%
ACME Solar Holdings Ltd₹2,023 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.9%
Torrent Power Ltd₹1,070 Cr · 4% of its sales
1.0%
NLC India Ltd₹530 Cr · 3% of its sales
0.5%
Hindustan Zinc Ltd₹135 Cr · 0% of its sales
0.1%
Oil India Ltd₹86 Cr · 0% of its sales
0.1%
Patanjali Foods Ltd₹34 Cr · 0% of its sales
0.0%
Bajaj Finserv Ltd₹23 Cr · 0% of its sales
0.0%

Waaree Energies Ltd had 25.7% of the listed companies' revenue from solar and wind power here, 1.7 times as much as Suzlon Energy Ltd, the next largest. The two together sold 41%; the other 14 the rest.

From each company's own sales figures for this kind of product (its reported segment, or its whole sales where that is all it sells). Private makers are not counted, so this is the split among listed companies, not the whole market. An estimate is the share of turnover the company gives this product line in its sustainability report, times its own sales for the year, where its segments do not split it out.

What it is made of

Sales by product line, FY26
Solar modules and cells₹31,958 Cr
30.0%
Wind turbines₹13,672 Cr
12.8%
Solar power₹5,339 Cr
5.0%
Wind power₹192 Cr
0.2%
Not reported by product₹55,460 Cr
52.0%

Of the sales reported by product line, solar modules and cells is the largest at ₹31,958 Cr, then wind turbines at ₹13,672 Cr.

Where a company reports its product lines separately. "Not reported by product" is sales a company reports only as a whole.

How the sales have grown, and who sold them

Revenue from solar and wind power each financial year in ₹ crore (L = lakh crore), the change on the year before above each column
Premier Energies Ltd, FY20: ₹966 Cr10 others, FY20: ₹1,859 Cr ₹2,825 Cr FY20 Premier Energies Ltd, FY21: ₹737 Cr10 others, FY21: ₹1,910 Cr ₹2,647 Cr-6% FY21 Premier Energies Ltd, FY22: ₹768 Cr10 others, FY22: ₹1,892 Cr ₹2,660 Cr+1% FY22 Premier Energies Ltd, FY23: ₹1,464 Cr10 others, FY23: ₹4,542 Cr ₹6,006 Cr+126% FY23 Premier Energies Ltd, FY24: ₹3,173 Cr10 others, FY24: ₹5,614 Cr ₹8,786 Cr+46% FY24 Waaree Energies Ltd, FY25: ₹14,445 Cr14,445Suzlon Energy Ltd, FY25: ₹10,367 Cr10,367Adani Enterprises Ltd, FY25: ₹13,965 Cr13,965Tata Power Company Ltd, FY25: ₹9,202 Cr9,202Adani Green Energy Ltd, FY25: ₹8,631 Cr8,631Premier Energies Ltd, FY25: ₹6,519 Cr10 others, FY25: ₹9,754 Cr9,754 ₹72,883 Cr+730% FY25 Waaree Energies Ltd, FY26: ₹27,449 Cr27,449Suzlon Energy Ltd, FY26: ₹16,091 Cr16,091Adani Enterprises Ltd, FY26: ₹15,023 Cr15,023Tata Power Company Ltd, FY26: ₹13,970 Cr13,970Adani Green Energy Ltd, FY26: ₹11,105 Cr11,105Premier Energies Ltd, FY26: ₹7,824 Cr7,82410 others, FY26: ₹15,160 Cr15,160 ₹1.07 lakh Cr+46% FY26
Waaree Energies LtdSuzlon Energy LtdAdani Enterprises LtdTata Power Company LtdAdani Green Energy LtdPremier Energies Ltd10 others

The listed companies here earned ₹1.07 lakh Cr from solar and wind power in FY26. Counting only the companies with figures in both years, sales went from ₹2,825 Cr in FY20 to ₹9,848 Cr, 3.5 times as much. The biggest rise was in FY24 (+46%) and the weakest year FY21 (-6%). Waaree Energies Ltd's part of the total went from 20% in FY25 to 26% in FY26. Over three years NTPC Green Energy Ltd grew fastest, +155.7% a year. Some companies are counted only from a later year (Waaree Energies Ltd from FY25; Suzlon Energy Ltd from FY25; Adani Enterprises Ltd from FY25; Tata Power Company Ltd from FY25; Adani Green Energy Ltd from FY25; JSW Energy Ltd from FY25; NTPC Green Energy Ltd from FY23; GAIL (India) Ltd from FY23; Torrent Power Ltd from FY25; NLC India Ltd from FY26; Hindustan Zinc Ltd from FY25; Oil India Ltd from FY25; Patanjali Foods Ltd from FY25; Bajaj Finserv Ltd from FY25).

Counted from the first year their figures for this are available: Waaree Energies Ltd from FY25; Suzlon Energy Ltd from FY25; Adani Enterprises Ltd from FY25; Tata Power Company Ltd from FY25; Adani Green Energy Ltd from FY25; JSW Energy Ltd from FY25; NTPC Green Energy Ltd from FY23; GAIL (India) Ltd from FY23; Torrent Power Ltd from FY25; NLC India Ltd from FY26; Hindustan Zinc Ltd from FY25; Oil India Ltd from FY25; Patanjali Foods Ltd from FY25; Bajaj Finserv Ltd from FY25. A jump in that year is partly that.

Who earns the most on each rupee

Operating profit as a share of revenue from solar and wind power, each financial year
-2%15%31%FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26 Waaree Energies Ltd: 16.3%Waaree Energies Ltd: 18.1%18.1% Suzlon Energy Ltd: 15.0%Suzlon Energy Ltd: 16.2%16.2% Adani Enterprises Ltd: 29.2%Adani Enterprises Ltd: 24.0%24.0% Tata Power Company Ltd: 28.2%Tata Power Company Ltd: 31.1%31.1% Adani Green Energy Ltd: 19.2%Adani Green Energy Ltd: 14.2%14.2% Premier Energies Ltd: 6.3%Premier Energies Ltd: 7.6%Premier Energies Ltd: -2.0%Premier Energies Ltd: -0.5%Premier Energies Ltd: 9.1%Premier Energies Ltd: 21.7%Premier Energies Ltd: 27.2%27.2%
Waaree Energies LtdSuzlon Energy LtdAdani Enterprises LtdTata Power Company LtdAdani Green Energy LtdPremier Energies Ltd

Operating profit before interest and tax, as a share of revenue from solar and wind power. Waaree Energies Ltd earned 18.1% on its sales in FY26, against 16.3% in FY25. Suzlon Energy Ltd earned 16.2% on its sales in FY26, against 15.0% in FY25. Adani Enterprises Ltd earned 24.0% on its sales in FY26, against 29.2% in FY25. Tata Power Company Ltd earned 31.1% on its sales in FY26, against 28.2% in FY25. Adani Green Energy Ltd earned 14.2% on its sales in FY26, against 19.2% in FY25. Premier Energies Ltd earned 27.2% on its sales in FY26, against 6.3% in FY20.

The companies, and their brands

Company and brandsSales FY26Growth 1 yr3 yrs5 yrsMarginProfit shareReturn on assetsP/EROEShare price 1 yr
Waaree Energies Ltd ₹27,449 Cr +90.1% — — 18.1% 18.7% 25.0% 18.5 33.4% -29.7%
Suzlon Energy Ltd ₹16,091 Cr +55.3% — — 16.2% 9.8% 18.6% 17.6 38.1% -25.5%
Adani Enterprises Ltd
Sells in 19 states and 7 countries; exports 17.97% of turnover
₹15,023 Cr +7.6% — — 24.0% 13.6% 20.5% 42.4 5.3% +7.1%
Tata Power Company Ltd
Sells in 19 states and 7 countries; exports 0.3% of turnover
₹13,970 Cr +51.9% — — 31.1% 16.3% 7.6% 28.5 6.1% -11.9%
Adani Green Energy Ltd ₹11,105 Cr +28.7% — — 14.2% 5.9% 1.1% 123.3 7.0% +24.2%
Premier Energies Ltd ₹7,824 Cr +20.0% +74.8% +60.4% 27.2% 8.0% — 24.4 7.6% -14.3%
JSW Energy Ltd ₹5,626 Cr +57.2% — — 54.3% 11.5% 4.2% 41.1 3.7% -14.9%
NTPC Green Energy Ltd ₹2,858 Cr +29.4% +155.7% — 54.2% 5.8% — 130.8 2.2% -6.0%
GAIL (India) Ltd
Sells in 26 states and 7 countries; exports 0.01% of turnover
₹2,774 Cr
estimate
+102.1% -2.3% — — — — 11.2 9.6% -4.0%
ACME Solar Holdings Ltd ₹2,023 Cr +44.0% +13.0% +1.2% 89.0% 6.8% — 42.3 3.6% +46.6%
Torrent Power Ltd
Sells in 11 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹1,070 Cr +18.5% — — 50.7% 2.0% 3.2% 25.8 14.1% -8.2%
NLC India Ltd ₹530 Cr — — — 60.9% 1.2% 3.5% 12.2 7.2% -7.9%
Hindustan Zinc Ltd ₹135 Cr -1.5% — — 45.2% 0.2% 15.0% 13.6 76.7% +8.7%
Oil India Ltd ₹86 Cr +0.5% — — 24.1% 0.1% 5.3% 8.7 9.5% +7.5%
Patanjali Foods Ltd
Sells in 36 states and 37 countries; exports 47.0% of turnover
₹34 Cr -15.6% — — -57.9% -0.1% -11.9% 20.3 15.9% -37.0%
Bajaj Finserv Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 2 countries; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹23 Cr +8.1% — — 53.5% 0.0% 38.1% 27.6 15.4% -13.1%
Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source. Growth is the yearly rate of its revenue from solar and wind power. Margin is the operating profit (before interest and tax) the company reports on them, as a share of those sales; profit share is its part of all the listed companies' profit on them; return on assets is that profit against the assets it reports for them. A company with no other business is measured on its whole accounts. Where a company's segments include sales between its own businesses (a bank's treasury lending to its retail arm), each segment is scaled down in proportion so that together they match what the company earns outside itself; companies report those internal sales only as a total. Not a recommendation to buy or sell.

Also sold by

These companies report this together with other businesses, so their figures are not counted above
Inside the app

See every one of these companies in Valarth

Start freeStart free
A Valarth stock page: the share price with its chart and 52-week range, valuation and profitability figures, and a scorecard of health checks.
Stock pagePrice, valuation, profitability and a scorecard of health checks for every company, each figure explained.
The Valarth stock screener: a table of companies with price, market cap, P/E, P/B, PEG, EPS and ROE, and filters down the left.
ScreenerEvery listed company, filtered on 212 figures, each with a plain-language lesson beside it.
The Valarth AI Screener answering 'Which companies will benefit from India's Project 75 submarine programme?' with a basket of four naval shipbuilders and a written thesis.
AI ScreenerAsk a question in plain English, like which companies benefit from India's Project 75. It reads the intent, builds the screen and writes the thesis.
A Valarth business-model card for State Bank of India, with a plain-language summary and statements verified against the filing.
Business modelHow a company makes money and what can hurt it, each statement checked against its annual report.
Valarth's Before the Bell edition, with the day's headline, regulator notes and sector moves.
Before the BellA morning edition before the market opens: what moved, which rule changed, and what it means for your holdings.
Share or embed this page
A link posted on X, Reddit, LinkedIn or WhatsApp shows this picture as its preview. The embedded picture always shows the latest figures.

Questions people ask

Who builds India's solar and wind power?

16 listed companies report their revenue from solar and wind power: Waaree Energies Ltd (WAAREEENER), Suzlon Energy Ltd (SUZLON), Adani Enterprises Ltd (ADANIENT), Tata Power Company Ltd (TATAPOWER), Adani Green Energy Ltd (ADANIGREEN), Premier Energies Ltd (PREMIERENE), JSW Energy Ltd (JSWENERGY), NTPC Green Energy Ltd (NTPCGREEN). 3 more sell them but report them together with other products.

Which listed company earns the most from solar and wind power in India?

Waaree Energies Ltd, with revenue from solar and wind power of ₹27,449 crore in FY26: 25.7% of the listed companies' total here.

How much do listed companies earn from solar and wind power?

The listed companies here earned ₹106,621 crore from solar and wind power in FY26, up 45.6% on FY25. Private makers are not included.

Which listed company makes the most profit from solar and wind power?

ACME Solar Holdings Ltd: its operating profit was 89.0% of its revenue from solar and wind power in FY26.