VALARTH Open the screenerOpen in app
Who builds India

Who makes India's steel

The listed companies behind it: SAIL SeQR, SAILNEX, APL Apollo, APL Apollo Brand, Apollo Galv, SEL Tiger.

11 listed companies earned ₹689,316 crore from steel in FY26, up 23.5% on FY25. Tata Steel Ltd earned the most, 34.8% of it. JSW Steel Ltd earned the most on each rupee of sales: 20.9%.

Share
Listed companies' sales, FY26
₹689,316 Cr
up 23.5% on FY25
Largest seller
34.8%
Tata Steel Ltd
Best margin
20.9%
JSW Steel Ltd
Fastest growing, 3 years
+13.3%
Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd

The brands, and who owns them

26 brands of steel, best known first
Steel Authority of India LtdNSE: SAIL · 15.1% of the listed sales
SAIL SeQRSAILNEX
APL Apollo Tubes LtdNSE: APLAPOLLO · 3.3% of the listed sales
APL ApolloAPL Apollo BrandApollo GalvApollo StructuralApollo ZBheemBuildChaukhatCoastGuardColumnDFTElegantFabritechFireReadyGreenRooftuffSG PremiumSG Premium BrandSignature
Shyam Metalics & Energy LtdNSE: SHYAMMETL · 2.7% of the listed sales
SEL TigerAlfaAzureEliteRoyale

SAIL SeQR, SAILNEX are Steel Authority of India Ltd's; APL Apollo, APL Apollo Brand, Apollo Galv, Apollo Structural and others are APL Apollo Tubes Ltd's; SEL Tiger, Alfa, Azure, Elite and others are Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd's. Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source.

Who sells the most

Share of the listed companies' sales, FY26
Tata Steel Ltd₹240,090 Cr · 103% of its sales Tata Steel India 58% · Tata Steel Netherlands Operations 26% · Tata Steel UK Operations 10% · South East Asian Operations 4% · Neelachal Ispat Nigam Limited 2% · Rest of the World 1%
34.8%
JSW Steel Ltd₹185,470 Cr · 100% of its sales
26.9%
Steel Authority of India Ltd₹104,393 Cr · 94% of its sales Bhilai Steel Plant 28% · Bokaro Steel Plant 24% · Rourkela Steel Plant 23% · IISCO Steel Plant 12% · Durgapur Steel Plant 10% · Stainless steel 2% · Alloy Steel Plant 1% · Visvesaraya Iron & Steel Plant 0%
15.1%
Jindal Steel Ltd₹53,225 Cr · 100% of its sales
7.7%
Jindal Stainless Ltd₹42,955 Cr · 100% of its sales
6.2%
APL Apollo Tubes Ltd₹23,079 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.3%
Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd₹18,552 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.7%
Welspun Corp Ltd₹16,134 Cr · 96% of its sales
2.3%
NMDC Ltd₹3,925 Cr · 12% of its sales
0.6%
Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd₹1,280 Cr (estimate) · 7% of its sales
0.2%
KEI Industries Ltd₹212 Cr · 2% of its sales
0.0%

Tata Steel Ltd had 34.8% of the listed companies' revenue from steel here, 1.3 times as much as JSW Steel Ltd, the next largest. The two together sold 62%; the other 9 the rest.

From each company's own sales figures for this kind of product (its reported segment, or its whole sales where that is all it sells). Private makers are not counted, so this is the split among listed companies, not the whole market. An estimate is the share of turnover the company gives this product line in its sustainability report, times its own sales for the year, where its segments do not split it out.

What it is made of

Sales by product line, FY26
Stainless steel₹45,031 Cr
6.5%
Pipes and tubes₹23,079 Cr
3.3%
Flat steel₹3,925 Cr
0.6%
Not reported by product₹617,281 Cr
89.5%

Of the sales reported by product line, stainless steel is the largest at ₹45,031 Cr, then pipes and tubes at ₹23,079 Cr.

Where a company reports its product lines separately. "Not reported by product" is sales a company reports only as a whole.

How the sales have grown, and who sold them

Revenue from steel each financial year in ₹ crore (L = lakh crore), the change on the year before above each column
JSW Steel Ltd, FY19: ₹84,961 Cr84,961Jindal Steel Ltd, FY19: ₹46,981 CrJindal Stainless Ltd, FY19: ₹13,653 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY19: ₹7,164 Cr5 others, FY19: ₹4,685 Cr ₹1.57 lakh Cr FY19 JSW Steel Ltd, FY20: ₹73,872 Cr73,872Jindal Steel Ltd, FY20: ₹38,123 CrJindal Stainless Ltd, FY20: ₹13,037 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY20: ₹7,745 Cr5 others, FY20: ₹4,388 Cr ₹1.37 lakh Cr-13% FY20 JSW Steel Ltd, FY21: ₹80,432 Cr80,432Jindal Steel Ltd, FY21: ₹35,111 CrJindal Stainless Ltd, FY21: ₹12,349 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY21: ₹8,536 Cr5 others, FY21: ₹6,321 Cr ₹1.43 lakh Cr+4% FY21 JSW Steel Ltd, FY22: ₹1.49 lakh Cr1.49LJindal Steel Ltd, FY22: ₹51,216 Cr51,216Jindal Stainless Ltd, FY22: ₹32,904 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY22: ₹13,104 Cr5 others, FY22: ₹10,454 Cr ₹2.56 lakh Cr+80% FY22 JSW Steel Ltd, FY23: ₹1.68 lakh Cr1.68LJindal Steel Ltd, FY23: ₹54,049 Cr54,049Jindal Stainless Ltd, FY23: ₹35,933 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY23: ₹16,213 Cr5 others, FY23: ₹12,763 Cr ₹2.87 lakh Cr+12% FY23 JSW Steel Ltd, FY24: ₹1.77 lakh Cr1.77LJindal Steel Ltd, FY24: ₹50,511 Cr50,511Jindal Stainless Ltd, FY24: ₹39,077 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY24: ₹18,877 Cr5 others, FY24: ₹14,185 Cr ₹2.99 lakh Cr+4% FY24 Tata Steel Ltd, FY25: ₹1.47 lakh Cr1.47LJSW Steel Ltd, FY25: ₹1.69 lakh Cr1.69LSteel Authority of India Ltd, FY25: ₹99,471 Cr99,471Jindal Steel Ltd, FY25: ₹49,765 Cr49,765Jindal Stainless Ltd, FY25: ₹39,312 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY25: ₹20,690 Cr5 others, FY25: ₹29,663 Cr ₹5.55 lakh Cr+85% FY25 Tata Steel Ltd, FY26: ₹2.40 lakh Cr2.40LJSW Steel Ltd, FY26: ₹1.85 lakh Cr1.85LSteel Authority of India Ltd, FY26: ₹1.04 lakh Cr1.04LJindal Steel Ltd, FY26: ₹53,225 Cr53,225Jindal Stainless Ltd, FY26: ₹42,955 CrAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd, FY26: ₹23,079 Cr5 others, FY26: ₹40,104 Cr ₹6.89 lakh Cr+24% FY26
Tata Steel LtdJSW Steel LtdSteel Authority of India LtdJindal Steel LtdJindal Stainless LtdAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd5 others

The listed companies here earned ₹6.89 lakh Cr from steel in FY26. Counting only the companies with figures in both years, sales went from ₹1.57 lakh Cr in FY19 to ₹3.23 lakh Cr, 2.1 times as much. The biggest rise was in FY22 (+80%) and the weakest year FY20 (-13%). Tata Steel Ltd's part of the total went from 27% in FY25 to 35% in FY26. Over three years Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd grew fastest, +13.3% a year. Some companies are counted only from a later year (Tata Steel Ltd from FY25; Steel Authority of India Ltd from FY25; Welspun Corp Ltd from FY25; NMDC Ltd from FY26; Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd from FY24; KEI Industries Ltd from FY25).

Counted from the first year their figures for this are available: Tata Steel Ltd from FY25; Steel Authority of India Ltd from FY25; Welspun Corp Ltd from FY25; NMDC Ltd from FY26; Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd from FY24; KEI Industries Ltd from FY25. A jump in that year is partly that.

Who earns the most on each rupee

Operating profit as a share of revenue from steel, each financial year
-6%7%21%FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26 Tata Steel Ltd: 19.5%Tata Steel Ltd: 14.3%14.3% JSW Steel Ltd: 13.1%JSW Steel Ltd: 4.1%JSW Steel Ltd: 14.9%JSW Steel Ltd: 20.0%JSW Steel Ltd: 3.4%JSW Steel Ltd: 7.6%JSW Steel Ltd: 8.2%JSW Steel Ltd: 20.9%20.9% Steel Authority of India Ltd: 5.9%Steel Authority of India Ltd: 6.8%6.8% Jindal Steel Ltd: -6.0%Jindal Steel Ltd: -0.8%Jindal Steel Ltd: 17.3%Jindal Steel Ltd: 18.9%Jindal Steel Ltd: 9.7%Jindal Steel Ltd: 12.4%Jindal Steel Ltd: 11.4%Jindal Steel Ltd: 11.2%11.2% Jindal Stainless Ltd: 1.6%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 1.3%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 5.6%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 12.6%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 7.7%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 9.2%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 10.0%Jindal Stainless Ltd: 11.2%11.2% APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 3.2%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 3.8%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 6.4%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 6.4%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 5.3%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 5.2%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 5.3%APL Apollo Tubes Ltd: 7.3%7.3%
Tata Steel LtdJSW Steel LtdSteel Authority of India LtdJindal Steel LtdJindal Stainless LtdAPL Apollo Tubes Ltd

Operating profit before interest and tax, as a share of revenue from steel. Tata Steel Ltd earned 14.3% on its sales in FY26, against 19.5% in FY25. JSW Steel Ltd earned 20.9% on its sales in FY26, against 9.2% in FY17. Steel Authority of India Ltd earned 6.8% on its sales in FY26, against 5.9% in FY25. Jindal Steel Ltd earned 11.2% on its sales in FY26, against -14.0% in FY17; its best year was FY22 at 18.9%. Jindal Stainless Ltd earned 11.2% on its sales in FY26, against 1.2% in FY17; its best year was FY22 at 12.6%. APL Apollo Tubes Ltd earned 7.3% on its sales in FY26, against 5.5% in FY17.

The companies, and their brands

Company and brandsSales FY26Growth 1 yr3 yrs5 yrsMarginProfit shareReturn on assetsP/EROEShare price 1 yr
Tata Steel Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 66 countries; exports 8.0% of turnover
₹240,090 Cr +63.3% — — 14.3% 35.6% 11.5% 19.8 9.7% +2.6%
JSW Steel Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 77 countries; exports 7.15% of turnover
₹185,470 Cr +9.9% +3.4% +18.2% 20.9% 40.3% — 11.6 7.9% +2.5%
Steel Authority of India Ltd
SAIL SeQR, SAILNEX
Sells in 28 states and 5 countries; exports 1.05% of turnover
₹104,393 Cr +5.0% — — 6.8% 7.3% 6.1% 16.7 6.6% +34.2%
Jindal Steel Ltd ₹53,225 Cr +7.0% -0.5% +8.7% 11.2% 6.2% — 38.6 8.1% +3.6%
Jindal Stainless Ltd ₹42,955 Cr +9.3% +6.1% +28.3% 11.2% 5.0% — 18.3 16.2% -7.1%
APL Apollo Tubes Ltd
APL Apollo, APL Apollo Brand, Apollo Galv, Apollo Structural, Apollo Z, Bheem, Build, Chaukhat, CoastGuard, Column, DFT, Elegant
Sells in 36 states and 36 countries; exports 9.0% of turnover
₹23,079 Cr +11.6% +12.5% +22.0% 7.3% 1.7% — 49.4 16.7% +26.7%
Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd
SEL Tiger, Alfa, Azure, Elite, Royale
Sells in 25 states and 40 countries; exports 10.63% of turnover
₹18,552 Cr +22.6% +13.3% +24.0% 8.9% 1.7% — 27.3 8.9% +18.2%
Welspun Corp Ltd ₹16,134 Cr +20.9% — — 12.6% 2.1% 14.3% 31.2 16.2% +230.9%
NMDC Ltd ₹3,925 Cr — — — 0.4% 0.0% 4.0% 8.4 23.4% -6.3%
Lloyds Metals & Energy Ltd
Sells in 18 states and 3 countries; exports 5.61% of turnover
₹1,280 Cr
estimate
+32.0% — — — — — 20.5 35.1% +36.9%
KEI Industries Ltd ₹212 Cr +1.3% — — 8.1% 0.0% 18.6% 44.5 14.8% +6.4%
Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source. Growth is the yearly rate of its revenue from steel. Margin is the operating profit (before interest and tax) the company reports on them, as a share of those sales; profit share is its part of all the listed companies' profit on them; return on assets is that profit against the assets it reports for them. A company with no other business is measured on its whole accounts. Where a company's segments include sales between its own businesses (a bank's treasury lending to its retail arm), each segment is scaled down in proportion so that together they match what the company earns outside itself; companies report those internal sales only as a total. Not a recommendation to buy or sell.

Also sold by

These companies report this together with other businesses, so their figures are not counted above
Inside the app

See every one of these companies in Valarth

Start freeStart free
A Valarth stock page: the share price with its chart and 52-week range, valuation and profitability figures, and a scorecard of health checks.
Stock pagePrice, valuation, profitability and a scorecard of health checks for every company, each figure explained.
The Valarth stock screener: a table of companies with price, market cap, P/E, P/B, PEG, EPS and ROE, and filters down the left.
ScreenerEvery listed company, filtered on 212 figures, each with a plain-language lesson beside it.
The Valarth AI Screener answering 'Which companies will benefit from India's Project 75 submarine programme?' with a basket of four naval shipbuilders and a written thesis.
AI ScreenerAsk a question in plain English, like which companies benefit from India's Project 75. It reads the intent, builds the screen and writes the thesis.
A Valarth business-model card for State Bank of India, with a plain-language summary and statements verified against the filing.
Business modelHow a company makes money and what can hurt it, each statement checked against its annual report.
Valarth's Before the Bell edition, with the day's headline, regulator notes and sector moves.
Before the BellA morning edition before the market opens: what moved, which rule changed, and what it means for your holdings.
Share or embed this page
A link posted on X, Reddit, LinkedIn or WhatsApp shows this picture as its preview. The embedded picture always shows the latest figures.

Questions people ask

Who makes India's steel?

11 listed companies report their revenue from steel: Tata Steel Ltd (TATASTEEL), JSW Steel Ltd (JSWSTEEL), Steel Authority of India Ltd (SAIL), Jindal Steel Ltd (JINDALSTEL), Jindal Stainless Ltd (JSL), APL Apollo Tubes Ltd (APLAPOLLO), Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd (SHYAMMETL), Welspun Corp Ltd (WELCORP). 1 more sell them but report them together with other products.

Which listed company earns the most from steel in India?

Tata Steel Ltd, with revenue from steel of ₹240,090 crore in FY26: 34.8% of the listed companies' total here.

How much do listed companies earn from steel?

The listed companies here earned ₹689,316 crore from steel in FY26, up 23.5% on FY25. Private makers are not included.

Which listed company makes the most profit from steel?

JSW Steel Ltd: its operating profit was 20.9% of its revenue from steel in FY26.

Who owns SAIL SeQR?

SAIL SeQR is a brand of Steel Authority of India Ltd, listed on the NSE as SAIL.

Who owns SAILNEX?

SAILNEX is a brand of Steel Authority of India Ltd, listed on the NSE as SAIL.

Who owns APL Apollo?

APL Apollo is a brand of APL Apollo Tubes Ltd, listed on the NSE as APLAPOLLO.

Who owns APL Apollo Brand?

APL Apollo Brand is a brand of APL Apollo Tubes Ltd, listed on the NSE as APLAPOLLO.

Who owns SEL Tiger?

SEL Tiger is a brand of Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd, listed on the NSE as SHYAMMETL.

Who owns Alfa?

Alfa is a brand of Shyam Metalics & Energy Ltd, listed on the NSE as SHYAMMETL.