VALARTH Open the screenerOpen in app
Who builds India

Who lends for India's homes, gold, vehicles and small loans

The listed companies behind it: iMuthoot, Muthoot Money, Belstar, Udyog Plus, Mahindra Home Finance, Sambhav Housing.

32 listed companies earned ₹748,952 crore from lending outside banks in FY26, up 14.5% on FY25. Power Finance Corporation Ltd earned the most, 15.4% of it. Power Finance Corporation Ltd earned the most on each rupee of sales: 97.2%.

Share
Listed companies' sales, FY26
₹748,952 Cr
up 14.5% on FY25
Largest seller
15.4%
Power Finance Corporation Ltd
Best margin
97.2%
Power Finance Corporation Ltd
Fastest growing, 3 years
+42.2%
Poonawalla Fincorp Ltd

The brands, and who owns them

7 brands of lending outside banks, best known first
Muthoot Finance LtdNSE: MUTHOOTFIN · 4.2% of the listed sales
iMuthootMuthoot MoneyBelstarLoan@Home
Aditya Birla Capital LtdNSE: ABCAPITAL · 2.8% of the listed sales
Udyog Plus
Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services LtdNSE: M&MFIN · 2.6% of the listed sales
Mahindra Home Finance
Bajaj Housing Finance LtdNSE: BAJAJHFL · 1.5% of the listed sales
Sambhav Housing

iMuthoot, Muthoot Money, Belstar, Loan@Home are Muthoot Finance Ltd's; Udyog Plus is Aditya Birla Capital Ltd's; Mahindra Home Finance is Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd's; Sambhav Housing is Bajaj Housing Finance Ltd's. Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source.

Who sells the most

Share of the listed companies' sales, FY26
Power Finance Corporation Ltd₹115,444 Cr · 100% of its sales
15.4%
Bajaj Finance Ltd₹81,982 Cr · 100% of its sales
10.9%
Bajaj Finserv Ltd₹79,887 Cr · 53% of its sales
10.7%
REC Ltd₹59,584 Cr · 100% of its sales
8.0%
Shriram Finance Ltd₹48,133 Cr · 100% of its sales
6.4%
Muthoot Finance Ltd₹31,209 Cr · 100% of its sales
4.2%
Tata Capital Ltd₹30,494 Cr · 97% of its sales
4.1%
LIC Housing Finance Ltd₹28,703 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.8%
Indian Railway Finance Corporation Ltd₹27,338 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.7%
Cholamandalam Investment & Finance Company Ltd₹25,741 Cr · 83% of its sales Vehicle loans 64% · Loan against property 23% · Home loans 13%
3.4%
Aditya Birla Capital Ltd₹21,030 Cr · 46% of its sales Lending (Excluding Housing Finance) 81% · Home loans 19%
2.8%
SBI Cards & Payment Services Ltd₹20,708 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.8%
Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd₹19,578 Cr · 93% of its sales
2.6%
L&T Finance Ltd₹17,914 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.4%
HDB Financial Services Ltd₹17,206 Cr · 93% of its sales
2.3%
Larsen & Toubro Ltd₹17,094 Cr · 6% of its sales
2.3%
Housing & Urban Development Corporation Ltd₹13,150 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.8%
Piramal Finance Ltd₹11,852 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.6%
Bajaj Housing Finance Ltd₹11,150 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.5%
Manappuram Finance Ltd₹9,525 Cr · 100% of its sales Gold loans 87% · Microfinance 13%
1.3%
Sundaram Finance Ltd₹9,069 Cr · 92% of its sales
1.2%
PNB Housing Finance Ltd₹8,505 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.1%
Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd₹8,310 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.1%
Ashok Leyland Ltd₹8,049 Cr · 14% of its sales
1.1%
TVS Motor Company Ltd₹7,200 Cr · 13% of its sales
1.0%
Poonawalla Fincorp Ltd₹6,790 Cr · 100% of its sales
0.9%
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd₹6,152 Cr · 6% of its sales Vehicle loans 66% · Other Lending Activities 34%
0.8%
Bajaj Auto Ltd₹3,248 Cr · 5% of its sales
0.4%
Authum Investment & Infrastructure Ltd₹1,362 Cr · 52% of its sales Lending Activity 99% · ARC 1%
0.2%
Jio Financial Services Ltd₹949 Cr (estimate) · 27% of its sales
0.1%
Kirloskar Oil Engines Ltd₹877 Cr · 11% of its sales
0.1%
Motilal Oswal Financial Services Ltd₹720 Cr · 8% of its sales
0.1%

Power Finance Corporation Ltd had 15.4% of the listed companies' revenue from lending outside banks here, 1.4 times as much as Bajaj Finance Ltd, the next largest. The two together sold 26%; the other 30 the rest.

From each company's own sales figures for this kind of product (its reported segment, or its whole sales where that is all it sells). Private makers are not counted, so this is the split among listed companies, not the whole market. An estimate is the share of turnover the company gives this product line in its sustainability report, times its own sales for the year, where its segments do not split it out.

What it is made of

Sales by product line, FY26
Vehicle loans₹96,257 Cr
12.9%
Personal loans₹81,982 Cr
10.9%
Home loans₹69,500 Cr
9.3%
Gold loans₹39,484 Cr
5.3%
Microfinance₹1,250 Cr
0.2%
Not reported by product₹460,478 Cr
61.5%

Of the sales reported by product line, vehicle loans is the largest at ₹96,257 Cr, then personal loans at ₹81,982 Cr.

Where a company reports its product lines separately. "Not reported by product" is sales a company reports only as a whole.

How the sales have grown, and who sold them

Revenue from lending outside banks each financial year in ₹ crore (L = lakh crore), the change on the year before above each column
Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY19: ₹54,201 Cr54,201Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY19: ₹18,500 CrREC Ltd, FY19: ₹25,441 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY19: ₹15,557 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY19: ₹7,601 Cr26 others, FY19: ₹61,626 Cr61,626 ₹1.83 lakh Cr FY19 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY20: ₹62,297 Cr62,297Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY20: ₹26,386 CrREC Ltd, FY20: ₹30,016 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY20: ₹16,576 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY20: ₹9,707 Cr26 others, FY20: ₹66,118 Cr66,118 ₹2.11 lakh Cr+15% FY20 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY21: ₹71,707 Cr71,707Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY21: ₹26,683 CrREC Ltd, FY21: ₹35,576 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY21: ₹17,436 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY21: ₹11,570 Cr26 others, FY21: ₹68,892 Cr68,892 ₹2.32 lakh Cr+10% FY21 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY22: ₹76,345 Cr76,345Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY22: ₹31,640 CrREC Ltd, FY22: ₹39,339 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY22: ₹19,274 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY22: ₹12,238 Cr26 others, FY22: ₹68,861 Cr68,861 ₹2.48 lakh Cr+7% FY22 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY23: ₹77,625 Cr77,625Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY23: ₹41,420 CrREC Ltd, FY23: ₹39,520 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY23: ₹30,508 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY23: ₹11,975 Cr26 others, FY23: ₹82,119 Cr82,119 ₹2.83 lakh Cr+14% FY23 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY24: ₹91,586 Cr91,586Bajaj Finance Ltd, FY24: ₹54,990 Cr54,990REC Ltd, FY24: ₹47,571 CrShriram Finance Ltd, FY24: ₹36,413 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY24: ₹15,163 Cr26 others, FY24: ₹1.01 lakh Cr1.01L ₹3.47 lakh Cr+22% FY24 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY25: ₹1.07 lakh Cr1.07LBajaj Finance Ltd, FY25: ₹69,684 Cr69,684Bajaj Finserv Ltd, FY25: ₹67,650 Cr67,650REC Ltd, FY25: ₹56,367 Cr56,367Shriram Finance Ltd, FY25: ₹41,834 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY25: ₹20,214 Cr26 others, FY25: ₹2.49 lakh Cr2.49L ₹6.11 lakh Cr+76% FY25 Power Finance Corporation Ltd, FY26: ₹1.15 lakh Cr1.15LBajaj Finance Ltd, FY26: ₹81,982 Cr81,982Bajaj Finserv Ltd, FY26: ₹79,887 Cr79,887REC Ltd, FY26: ₹59,584 Cr59,584Shriram Finance Ltd, FY26: ₹48,133 CrMuthoot Finance Ltd, FY26: ₹31,209 Cr26 others, FY26: ₹3.33 lakh Cr3.33L ₹7.49 lakh Cr+23% FY26
Power Finance Corporation LtdBajaj Finance LtdBajaj Finserv LtdREC LtdShriram Finance LtdMuthoot Finance Ltd26 others

The listed companies here earned ₹7.49 lakh Cr from lending outside banks in FY26. Counting only the companies with figures in both years, sales went from ₹1.83 lakh Cr in FY19 to ₹4.54 lakh Cr, 2.5 times as much. The biggest rise was in FY24 (+20%) and the weakest year FY22 (+7%). Power Finance Corporation Ltd's part of the total went from 30% in FY19 to 15% in FY26. Over three years Poonawalla Fincorp Ltd grew fastest, +42.2% a year. Some companies are counted only from a later year (Bajaj Finserv Ltd from FY25; Tata Capital Ltd from FY26; LIC Housing Finance Ltd from FY25; Cholamandalam Investment & Finance Company Ltd from FY25; Aditya Birla Capital Ltd from FY25; Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd from FY25; HDB Financial Services Ltd from FY26; Larsen & Toubro Ltd from FY25; Manappuram Finance Ltd from FY25; Sundaram Finance Ltd from FY25; Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd from FY24; Ashok Leyland Ltd from FY25; TVS Motor Company Ltd from FY25; Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd from FY25; Bajaj Auto Ltd from FY25; Authum Investment & Infrastructure Ltd from FY26; Jio Financial Services Ltd from FY24; Kirloskar Oil Engines Ltd from FY25; Motilal Oswal Financial Services Ltd from FY25).

Counted from the first year their figures for this are available: Bajaj Finserv Ltd from FY25; Tata Capital Ltd from FY26; LIC Housing Finance Ltd from FY25; Cholamandalam Investment & Finance Company Ltd from FY25; Aditya Birla Capital Ltd from FY25; Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd from FY25; HDB Financial Services Ltd from FY26; Larsen & Toubro Ltd from FY25; Manappuram Finance Ltd from FY25; Sundaram Finance Ltd from FY25; Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd from FY24; Ashok Leyland Ltd from FY25; TVS Motor Company Ltd from FY25; Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd from FY25; Bajaj Auto Ltd from FY25; Authum Investment & Infrastructure Ltd from FY26; Jio Financial Services Ltd from FY24; Kirloskar Oil Engines Ltd from FY25; Motilal Oswal Financial Services Ltd from FY25. A jump in that year is partly that.

Who earns the most on each rupee

Operating profit as a share of revenue from lending outside banks, each financial year
0%49%97%FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26 Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 33.0%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 22.6%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 27.7%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 30.6%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 34.1%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 36.7%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 97.0%Power Finance Corporation Ltd: 97.2%97.2% Bajaj Finance Ltd: 33.4%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 27.8%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 22.5%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 30.0%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 37.5%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 35.1%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 67.2%Bajaj Finance Ltd: 66.4%66.4% Bajaj Finserv Ltd: 32.9%Bajaj Finserv Ltd: 32.0%32.0% REC Ltd: 31.8%REC Ltd: 23.4%REC Ltd: 30.3%REC Ltd: 31.6%REC Ltd: 35.2%REC Ltd: 37.8%REC Ltd: 96.2%REC Ltd: 95.7%95.7% Shriram Finance Ltd: 24.3%Shriram Finance Ltd: 20.7%Shriram Finance Ltd: 18.8%Shriram Finance Ltd: 18.4%Shriram Finance Ltd: 26.9%Shriram Finance Ltd: 27.4%Shriram Finance Ltd: 74.0%Shriram Finance Ltd: 72.3%72.3% Muthoot Finance Ltd: 42.9%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 43.9%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 44.4%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 44.2%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 41.1%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 39.5%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 72.6%Muthoot Finance Ltd: 81.1%81.1%
Power Finance Corporation LtdBajaj Finance LtdBajaj Finserv LtdREC LtdShriram Finance LtdMuthoot Finance Ltd

Operating profit before interest and tax, as a share of revenue from lending outside banks. Power Finance Corporation Ltd earned 97.2% on its sales in FY26, against 19.1% in FY17. Bajaj Finance Ltd earned 66.4% on its sales in FY26, against 28.2% in FY17; its best year was FY25 at 67.2%. Bajaj Finserv Ltd earned 32.0% on its sales in FY26, against 32.9% in FY25. REC Ltd earned 95.7% on its sales in FY26, against 36.8% in FY17; its best year was FY25 at 96.2%. Shriram Finance Ltd earned 72.3% on its sales in FY26, against 17.8% in FY17; its best year was FY25 at 74.0%. Muthoot Finance Ltd earned 81.1% on its sales in FY26, against 33.0% in FY17.

The companies, and their brands

Company and brandsSales FY26Growth 1 yr3 yrs5 yrsMarginProfit shareReturn on assetsP/EROEShare price 1 yr
Power Finance Corporation Ltd ₹115,444 Cr +8.4% +14.1% +10.0% 97.2% 26.9% — 4.3 20.7% -14.1%
Bajaj Finance Ltd ₹81,982 Cr +17.7% +25.5% +25.2% 66.4% 13.1% — 30.1 18.6% -3.6%
Bajaj Finserv Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 2 countries; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹79,887 Cr +18.1% — — 32.0% 6.1% 4.6% 27.6 15.4% -13.1%
REC Ltd ₹59,584 Cr +5.7% +14.7% +10.9% 95.7% 13.7% — 5.0 20.2% -17.1%
Shriram Finance Ltd ₹48,133 Cr +15.1% +16.4% +22.5% 72.3% 8.3% — 17.4 16.4% +46.5%
Muthoot Finance Ltd
iMuthoot, Muthoot Money, Belstar, Loan@Home
Sells in 22 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹31,209 Cr +54.4% +37.6% +22.0% 81.1% 6.1% — 9.3 30.6% -18.4%
Tata Capital Ltd ₹30,494 Cr — — — 21.0% 1.5% 2.3% 25.4 9.6% +2.5%
LIC Housing Finance Ltd ₹28,703 Cr +2.5% — — 24.7% 1.7% 2.2% 5.4 14.4% -0.3%
Indian Railway Finance Corporation Ltd ₹27,338 Cr +0.7% +4.5% +11.6% 25.6% 1.7% — 14.5 12.8% -36.1%
Cholamandalam Investment & Finance Company Ltd
Sells in 26 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹25,741 Cr +21.5% — — 23.9% 1.5% 3.3% 23.9 19.3% -1.5%
Aditya Birla Capital Ltd
Udyog Plus
Sells in 28 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹21,030 Cr +21.4% — — 23.1% 1.2% 2.3% 25.3 11.5% +29.1%
SBI Cards & Payment Services Ltd
Sells in 28 states; exports 3.39% of turnover
₹20,708 Cr +11.1% +13.2% +16.3% 14.1% 0.7% — 23.9 14.7% -37.5%
Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd
Mahindra Home Finance
₹19,578 Cr +14.6% — — 18.6% 0.9% 2.3% 13.9 12.5% +13.3%
L&T Finance Ltd ₹17,914 Cr +12.5% +4.8% +4.8% 59.8% 2.6% — 21.1 11.7% +1.8%
HDB Financial Services Ltd ₹17,206 Cr — — — 19.6% 0.8% 2.7% 18.3 13.9% -17.7%
Larsen & Toubro Ltd ₹17,094 Cr +14.0% — — 23.6% 1.0% 2.9% 30.5 14.8% -1.9%
Housing & Urban Development Corporation Ltd ₹13,150 Cr +27.6% +22.9% +12.6% 92.4% 2.9% — 7.7 20.2% -27.0%
Piramal Finance Ltd ₹11,852 Cr +10.3% +21.0% +6.1% 63.9% 1.8% — 27.3 5.5% —
Bajaj Housing Finance Ltd
Sambhav Housing
Sells in 20 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹11,150 Cr +16.7% +25.3% +28.7% 29.8% 0.8% — 25.6 12.1% -22.9%
Manappuram Finance Ltd ₹9,525 Cr -5.5% — — 13.3% 0.3% 1.7% 19.9 11.0% +15.2%
Sundaram Finance Ltd ₹9,069 Cr +18.1% — — 27.0% 0.6% 3.0% 21.0 15.4% -4.3%
PNB Housing Finance Ltd ₹8,505 Cr +11.0% +9.2% +2.2% 93.7% 1.9% — 13.8 12.9% +45.3%
Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd ₹8,310 Cr +23.3% — — 87.1% 1.7% — 15.4 15.6% -29.9%
Ashok Leyland Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 50 countries; exports 7.03% of turnover
₹8,049 Cr +29.8% — — 11.8% 0.2% 1.3% 24.9 28.9% +8.8%
TVS Motor Company Ltd
Sells in 29 states and 90 countries; exports 24.0% of turnover
₹7,200 Cr +10.0% — — 17.4% 0.3% 3.5% 55.6 34.2% +14.4%
Poonawalla Fincorp Ltd ₹6,790 Cr +62.1% +42.2% +23.6% 51.4% 0.8% — 34.3 5.9% -14.8%
Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd
Sells in 30 states and 2 countries; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹6,152 Cr +5.6% — — 23.5% 0.3% 2.4% 21.5 11.1% +2.0%
Bajaj Auto Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 106 countries; exports 34.0% of turnover
₹3,248 Cr +212.3% — — 27.4% 0.2% 4.5% 24.5 29.3% +13.3%
Authum Investment & Infrastructure Ltd
Sells in 14 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹1,362 Cr — — — 83.3% 0.3% 23.1% 22.0 13.2% -13.2%
Jio Financial Services Ltd
Sells in 1 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹949 Cr
estimate
+17.8% — — — — — 67.6 2.5% -28.7%
Kirloskar Oil Engines Ltd
Exports 9.94% of turnover
₹877 Cr +12.3% — — 10.5% 0.0% 1.4% 58.0 14.6% +150.8%
Motilal Oswal Financial Services Ltd
Sells in 22 states and 6 countries; exports 0.23% of turnover
₹720 Cr +10.5% — — 29.0% 0.1% 3.3% 32.5 12.2% +7.0%
Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source. Growth is the yearly rate of its revenue from lending outside banks. Margin is the operating profit (before interest and tax) the company reports on them, as a share of those sales; profit share is its part of all the listed companies' profit on them; return on assets is that profit against the assets it reports for them. A company with no other business is measured on its whole accounts. Where a company's segments include sales between its own businesses (a bank's treasury lending to its retail arm), each segment is scaled down in proportion so that together they match what the company earns outside itself; companies report those internal sales only as a total. Not a recommendation to buy or sell.

Also sold by

These companies report this together with other businesses, so their figures are not counted above
Inside the app

See every one of these companies in Valarth

Start freeStart free
A Valarth stock page: the share price with its chart and 52-week range, valuation and profitability figures, and a scorecard of health checks.
Stock pagePrice, valuation, profitability and a scorecard of health checks for every company, each figure explained.
The Valarth stock screener: a table of companies with price, market cap, P/E, P/B, PEG, EPS and ROE, and filters down the left.
ScreenerEvery listed company, filtered on 212 figures, each with a plain-language lesson beside it.
The Valarth AI Screener answering 'Which companies will benefit from India's Project 75 submarine programme?' with a basket of four naval shipbuilders and a written thesis.
AI ScreenerAsk a question in plain English, like which companies benefit from India's Project 75. It reads the intent, builds the screen and writes the thesis.
A Valarth business-model card for State Bank of India, with a plain-language summary and statements verified against the filing.
Business modelHow a company makes money and what can hurt it, each statement checked against its annual report.
Valarth's Before the Bell edition, with the day's headline, regulator notes and sector moves.
Before the BellA morning edition before the market opens: what moved, which rule changed, and what it means for your holdings.
Share or embed this page
A link posted on X, Reddit, LinkedIn or WhatsApp shows this picture as its preview. The embedded picture always shows the latest figures.

Questions people ask

Who lends for India's homes, gold, vehicles and small loans?

32 listed companies report their revenue from lending outside banks: Power Finance Corporation Ltd (PFC), Bajaj Finance Ltd (BAJFINANCE), Bajaj Finserv Ltd (BAJAJFINSV), REC Ltd (RECLTD), Shriram Finance Ltd (SHRIRAMFIN), Muthoot Finance Ltd (MUTHOOTFIN), Tata Capital Ltd (TATACAP), LIC Housing Finance Ltd (LICHSGFIN). 2 more sell them but report them together with other products.

Which listed company earns the most from lending outside banks in India?

Power Finance Corporation Ltd, with revenue from lending outside banks of ₹115,444 crore in FY26: 15.4% of the listed companies' total here.

How much do listed companies earn from lending outside banks?

The listed companies here earned ₹748,952 crore from lending outside banks in FY26, up 14.5% on FY25. Private makers are not included.

Which listed company makes the most profit from lending outside banks?

Power Finance Corporation Ltd: its operating profit was 97.2% of its revenue from lending outside banks in FY26.

Who owns iMuthoot?

iMuthoot is a brand of Muthoot Finance Ltd, listed on the NSE as MUTHOOTFIN.

Who owns Muthoot Money?

Muthoot Money is a brand of Muthoot Finance Ltd, listed on the NSE as MUTHOOTFIN.

Who owns Udyog Plus?

Udyog Plus is a brand of Aditya Birla Capital Ltd, listed on the NSE as ABCAPITAL.

Who owns Mahindra Home Finance?

Mahindra Home Finance is a brand of Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd, listed on the NSE as M&MFIN.

Who owns Sambhav Housing?

Sambhav Housing is a brand of Bajaj Housing Finance Ltd, listed on the NSE as BAJAJHFL.