VALARTH Open the screenerOpen in app
Who builds India

Who makes India's medicines

The listed companies behind it: Foracort, Galvus, Afrezza, Gibtulio®, Huminsulin®, ONDERO.

21 listed companies earned ₹276,537 crore from medicines in FY25. Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd earned the most, 19.0% of it. Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd earned the most on each rupee of sales: 33.6%.

Share
Listed companies' sales, FY25
₹276,537 Cr
Largest seller
19.0%
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd
Best margin
33.6%
Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Fastest growing, 3 years
+20.8%
Sai Life Sciences Ltd

The brands, and who owns them

105 brands of medicines, best known first
Cipla LtdNSE: CIPLA · 9.5% of the listed sales
ForacortGalvusAfrezzaCiplostem
Lupin LtdNSE: LUPIN · 8.2% of the listed sales
Gibtulio®Huminsulin®ONDEROONDERO METNalcromNalcromTM
Zydus Lifesciences LtdNSE: ZYDUSLIFE · 7.4% of the listed sales
Bilypsa®Lipaglyn®OxemiaTMOxemiaUjviraUjviraTMVivitraTMZituvimetZITUVIMET™Zituvimet™ XRZituvioZITUVIO™ZyVet
Alkem Laboratories LtdNSE: ALKEM · 4.7% of the listed sales
PanPan-DTaxim-OPIPZOTaximXONENERVMAX-XTObesemaPAN RFTPENTANERV GRDSSemasizeTAXIM-OFZXONE ES
Mankind Pharma LtdNSE: MANKIND · 4.4% of the listed sales
VonalongVonatime
Biocon LtdNSE: BIOCON · 4.2% of the listed sales
BiolideLiraglutide Biocon
Abbott India LtdNSE: ABBOTINDIA · 2.4% of the listed sales
BrufenCreonDuphastonThyronormArachitolArachitol NanoColospaDuphaston ODDuvadilanEnteroshieldGanatonHavshieldHeptralInfluvacLibraxLibrax 33Pneumoshield 14ProthiadenProthiaden NeuUdilivVertinVonefiZolfresh
J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals LtdNSE: JBCHEPHARM · 1.4% of the listed sales
RantacCilacarCilacar TMetrogylNicardiaRazelAzmardaBeta-NicardiaCilacar CCilacar MCilacar TCCilacar TMMetrogyl DGMetrogyl IVMetrogyl MMetrogyl OMetrogyl PNIcardia CDNicardia RetardNicardia XLRantac DOMRantac MPSRantac MPS LARantac RDRantac RDT
Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals LtdNSE: GLAXO · 1.4% of the listed sales
AugmentinBetnovateBetnovate-CBetnovate-NBoostrixCeftumEltroxinHavrixInfanrix HexaShingrixT-bactTenovateVarilrixJemperliNucalaTrelegy ElliptaZejula

Foracort, Galvus, Afrezza, Ciplostem are Cipla Ltd's; Gibtulio®, Huminsulin®, ONDERO, ONDERO MET and others are Lupin Ltd's; Bilypsa®, Lipaglyn®, OxemiaTM, Oxemia and others are Zydus Lifesciences Ltd's; Pan, Pan-D, Taxim-O, PIPZO and others are Alkem Laboratories Ltd's; Vonalong, Vonatime are Mankind Pharma Ltd's; Biolide, Liraglutide Biocon are Biocon Ltd's; Brufen, Creon, Duphaston, Thyronorm and others are Abbott India Ltd's; Rantac, Cilacar, Cilacar T, Metrogyl and others are J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd's; Augmentin, Betnovate, Betnovate-C, Betnovate-N and others are Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd's. Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source.

Who sells the most

Share of the listed companies' sales, FY25
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd₹52,578 Cr · 100% of its sales
19.0%
Aurobindo Pharma Ltd₹31,724 Cr · 100% of its sales
11.5%
Cipla Ltd₹26,254 Cr · 95% of its sales
9.5%
Lupin Ltd₹22,602 Cr · 100% of its sales
8.2%
Zydus Lifesciences Ltd₹20,544 Cr · 88% of its sales
7.4%
Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd₹13,322 Cr · 100% of its sales
4.8%
Alkem Laboratories Ltd₹12,965 Cr · 100% of its sales
4.7%
Mankind Pharma Ltd₹12,207 Cr · 100% of its sales
4.4%
Biocon Ltd₹11,716 Cr · 77% of its sales Biosimilars 75% · Generics 25%
4.2%
Torrent Pharmaceuticals Ltd₹11,516 Cr · 100% of its sales
4.2%
Divis Laboratories Ltd₹9,360 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.4%
Ipca Laboratories Ltd₹8,940 Cr · 100% of its sales
3.2%
Emcure Pharmaceuticals Ltd₹7,896 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.9%
Abbott India Ltd₹6,721 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.4%
Gland Pharma Ltd₹5,616 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.0%
Laurus Labs Ltd₹5,554 Cr · 100% of its sales
2.0%
Ajanta Pharma Ltd₹4,648 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.7%
J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd₹3,918 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.4%
Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd₹3,749 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.4%
Wockhardt Ltd₹3,012 Cr · 100% of its sales
1.1%
Sai Life Sciences Ltd₹1,695 Cr · 100% of its sales
0.6%

Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd had 19.0% of the listed companies' revenue from medicines here, 1.7 times as much as Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, the next largest. The two together sold 30%; the other 19 the rest.

From each company's own sales figures for this kind of product (its reported segment, or its whole sales where that is all it sells). Private makers are not counted, so this is the split among listed companies, not the whole market.

What it is made of

Sales by product line, FY25
India formulations₹18,929 Cr
6.8%
APIs₹14,914 Cr
5.4%
Contract manufacturing₹1,695 Cr
0.6%
Not reported by product₹241,000 Cr
87.1%

Of the sales reported by product line, india formulations is the largest at ₹18,929 Cr, then apis at ₹14,914 Cr.

Where a company reports its product lines separately. "Not reported by product" is sales a company reports only as a whole.

How the sales have grown, and who sold them

Revenue from medicines each financial year in ₹ crore (L = lakh crore), the change on the year before above each column
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY19: ₹30,091 Cr30,091Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY19: ₹19,722 CrGlenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY19: ₹10,241 Cr15 others, FY19: ₹44,830 Cr44,830 ₹1.05 lakh Cr FY19 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY20: ₹33,489 Cr33,489Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY20: ₹23,290 Cr23,290Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY20: ₹10,833 Cr15 others, FY20: ₹57,966 Cr57,966 ₹1.26 lakh Cr+20% FY20 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY21: ₹34,357 Cr34,357Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY21: ₹28,405 Cr28,405Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY21: ₹11,039 Cr15 others, FY21: ₹64,636 Cr64,636 ₹1.38 lakh Cr+10% FY21 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY22: ₹39,730 Cr39,730Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY22: ₹23,892 Cr23,892Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY22: ₹12,472 Cr15 others, FY22: ₹75,260 Cr75,260 ₹1.51 lakh Cr+9% FY22 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY23: ₹44,520 Cr44,520Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY23: ₹25,146 Cr25,146Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY23: ₹12,339 Cr15 others, FY23: ₹77,555 Cr77,555 ₹1.60 lakh Cr+5% FY23 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY24: ₹49,887 Cr49,887Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY24: ₹29,559 Cr29,559Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY24: ₹13,050 Cr15 others, FY24: ₹86,497 Cr86,497 ₹1.79 lakh Cr+12% FY24 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY25: ₹52,578 Cr52,578Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY25: ₹31,724 Cr31,724Cipla Ltd, FY25: ₹26,254 Cr26,254Lupin Ltd, FY25: ₹22,602 Cr22,602Zydus Lifesciences Ltd, FY25: ₹20,544 Cr20,544Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY25: ₹13,322 Cr15 others, FY25: ₹1.10 lakh Cr1.10L ₹2.77 lakh Cr+54% FY25 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, FY26: ₹58,462 Cr58,462Aurobindo Pharma Ltd, FY26: ₹33,653 Cr33,653Lupin Ltd, FY26: ₹27,811 Cr27,811Zydus Lifesciences Ltd, FY26: ₹22,412 Cr22,412Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd, FY26: ₹16,983 Cr15 others, FY26: ₹1.29 lakh Cr1.29L ₹2.88 lakh Cr+4% FY26
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries LtdAurobindo Pharma LtdCipla LtdLupin LtdZydus Lifesciences LtdGlenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd15 others

The listed companies here earned ₹2.88 lakh Cr from medicines in FY26. Counting only the companies with figures in both years, sales went from ₹1.05 lakh Cr in FY19 to ₹1.96 lakh Cr, 1.9 times as much. The biggest rise was in FY26 (+15%) and the weakest year FY23 (+5%). Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd's part of the total went from 29% in FY19 to 20% in FY26. Over three years Sai Life Sciences Ltd grew fastest, +20.8% a year. Some companies are counted only from a later year (Cipla Ltd from FY25; Lupin Ltd from FY25; Zydus Lifesciences Ltd from FY25; Mankind Pharma Ltd from FY20; Biocon Ltd from FY25; Gland Pharma Ltd from FY20; J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd from FY25).

Counted from the first year their figures for this are available: Cipla Ltd from FY25; Lupin Ltd from FY25; Zydus Lifesciences Ltd from FY25; Mankind Pharma Ltd from FY20; Biocon Ltd from FY25; Gland Pharma Ltd from FY20; J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd from FY25. A jump in that year is partly that.

Who earns the most on each rupee

Operating profit as a share of revenue from medicines, each financial year
0%16%31%FY19FY20FY21FY22FY23FY24FY25FY26 Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 12.7%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 15.0%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 8.1%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 11.3%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 21.1%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 22.2%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 26.6%Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd: 26.4%26.4% Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 15.7%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 16.1%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 25.9%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 14.1%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 10.4%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 14.8%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 17.5%Aurobindo Pharma Ltd: 16.3%16.3% Lupin Ltd: 18.4%Lupin Ltd: 25.4%25.4% Zydus Lifesciences Ltd: 28.7%Zydus Lifesciences Ltd: 31.5%31.5% Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 12.7%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 10.1%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 12.5%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 11.6%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 5.7%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 3.3%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 12.1%Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd: 12.9%12.9%
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries LtdAurobindo Pharma LtdLupin LtdZydus Lifesciences LtdGlenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd

Operating profit before interest and tax, as a share of revenue from medicines. Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd earned 26.4% on its sales in FY26, against 28.1% in FY17. Aurobindo Pharma Ltd earned 16.3% on its sales in FY26, against 20.4% in FY17; its best year was FY21 at 25.9%. Lupin Ltd earned 25.4% on its sales in FY26, against 18.4% in FY25. Zydus Lifesciences Ltd earned 31.5% on its sales in FY26, against 28.7% in FY25. Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd earned 12.9% on its sales in FY26, against 16.4% in FY17.

The companies, and their brands

Company and brandsSales FY25Growth 1 yr3 yrs5 yrsMarginProfit shareReturn on assetsP/EROEShare price 1 yr
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 90 countries; exports 72.3% of turnover
₹52,578 Cr +11.2% +9.5% +11.2% 26.6% 23.0% — 35.1 12.7% +7.0%
Aurobindo Pharma Ltd ₹31,724 Cr +6.1% +10.2% +3.4% 17.5% 9.1% — 26.3 11.2% +49.8%
Cipla Ltd
Foracort, Galvus, Afrezza, Ciplostem
Sells in 28 states and 68 countries; exports 40.82% of turnover
₹26,254 Cr — — — 26.2% 11.3% — 31.9 10.6% -14.3%
Lupin Ltd
Gibtulio®, Huminsulin®, ONDERO, ONDERO MET, Nalcrom, NalcromTM
Sells in 28 states and 136 countries; exports 58.6% of turnover
₹22,602 Cr +23.1% — — 18.4% 6.9% 14.2% 15.8 23.4% +0.8%
Zydus Lifesciences Ltd
Bilypsa®, Lipaglyn®, OxemiaTM, Oxemia, Ujvira, UjviraTM, VivitraTM, Zituvimet, ZITUVIMET™, Zituvimet™ XR, Zituvio, ZITUVIO™
Sells in 28 states and 81 countries; exports 33.8% of turnover
₹20,544 Cr +9.1% — — 28.7% 9.7% 19.2% 25.2 15.9% +15.7%
Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Sells in 36 states and 80 countries; exports 57.99% of turnover
₹13,322 Cr +27.5% +11.2% +9.0% 12.1% 2.6% — 35.6 3.9% +19.7%
Alkem Laboratories Ltd
Pan, Pan-D, Taxim-O, PIPZO, Taxim, XONE, NERVMAX-XT, Obesema, PAN RFT, PENTANERV GRDS, Semasize, TAXIM-OFZ
Sells in 28 states and 40 countries; exports 27.32% of turnover
₹12,965 Cr +13.5% +7.6% +10.1% 20.4% 4.4% — 29.1 17.3% -4.4%
Mankind Pharma Ltd
Vonalong, Vonatime
Sells in 36 states and 38 countries; exports 9.45% of turnover
₹12,207 Cr +17.0% +17.1% +17.4% 24.0% 4.8% — 47.9 13.3% -2.7%
Biocon Ltd
Biolide, Liraglutide Biocon
Sells in 21 states and 60 countries; exports 51.0% of turnover
₹11,716 Cr +44.5% — — 10.8% 2.1% 2.4% 103.2 0.9% -0.2%
Torrent Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 50 countries; exports 28.0% of turnover
₹11,516 Cr +21.4% +13.1% +11.6% 25.4% 4.8% — 74.1 27.3% +31.8%
Divis Laboratories Ltd ₹9,360 Cr +12.8% +9.2% +8.5% 31.2% 4.8% — 84.2 16.5% +41.5%
Ipca Laboratories Ltd ₹8,940 Cr +7.9% +14.8% +12.0% 13.6% 2.0% — 36.1 15.2% +46.9%
Emcure Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Sells in 28 states and 80 countries; exports 50.26% of turnover
₹7,896 Cr +16.6% +15.1% +12.7% 14.5% 1.9% — 35.0 21.8% +39.5%
Abbott India Ltd
Brufen, Creon, Duphaston, Thyronorm, Arachitol, Arachitol Nano, Colospa, Duphaston OD, Duvadilan, Enteroshield, Ganaton, Havshield
₹6,721 Cr +7.9% +9.4% +10.5% 28.1% 3.1% — 33.8 34.5% -14.6%
Gland Pharma Ltd ₹5,616 Cr +14.5% +18.5% +12.3% 19.7% 1.8% — 45.1 12.6% +60.9%
Laurus Labs Ltd ₹5,554 Cr +22.7% +4.1% +7.1% 12.6% 1.2% — 101.7 15.1% +134.6%
Ajanta Pharma Ltd ₹4,648 Cr +17.3% +12.4% +13.3% 26.0% 2.0% — 36.6 24.1% +39.1%
J B Chemicals & Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Rantac, Cilacar, Cilacar T, Metrogyl, Nicardia, Razel, Azmarda, Beta-Nicardia, Cilacar C, Cilacar M, Cilacar TC, Cilacar TM
Sells in 28 states and 40 countries; exports 35.0% of turnover
₹3,918 Cr +5.9% — — 22.9% 1.5% — — 18.2% +45.2%
Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd
Augmentin, Betnovate, Betnovate-C, Betnovate-N, Boostrix, Ceftum, Eltroxin, Havrix, Infanrix Hexa, Shingrix, T-bact, Tenovate
Sells in 28 states; exports 0.0% of turnover
₹3,749 Cr +1.9% +4.3% +4.0% 33.6% 2.1% — 40.9 48.3% -8.2%
Wockhardt Ltd ₹3,012 Cr +12.0% +6.7% -2.5% 7.9% 0.4% — 78.7 9.9% +44.9%
Sai Life Sciences Ltd ₹1,695 Cr +29.4% +20.8% +22.7% 17.9% 0.5% — 85.2 14.6% +70.7%
Brands are read from each company's filings and checked against a public source. Growth is the yearly rate of its revenue from medicines. Margin is the operating profit (before interest and tax) the company reports on them, as a share of those sales; profit share is its part of all the listed companies' profit on them; return on assets is that profit against the assets it reports for them. A company with no other business is measured on its whole accounts. Where a company's segments include sales between its own businesses (a bank's treasury lending to its retail arm), each segment is scaled down in proportion so that together they match what the company earns outside itself; companies report those internal sales only as a total. Not a recommendation to buy or sell.
Inside the app

See every one of these companies in Valarth

Start freeStart free
A Valarth stock page: the share price with its chart and 52-week range, valuation and profitability figures, and a scorecard of health checks.
Stock pagePrice, valuation, profitability and a scorecard of health checks for every company, each figure explained.
The Valarth stock screener: a table of companies with price, market cap, P/E, P/B, PEG, EPS and ROE, and filters down the left.
ScreenerEvery listed company, filtered on 212 figures, each with a plain-language lesson beside it.
The Valarth AI Screener answering 'Which companies will benefit from India's Project 75 submarine programme?' with a basket of four naval shipbuilders and a written thesis.
AI ScreenerAsk a question in plain English, like which companies benefit from India's Project 75. It reads the intent, builds the screen and writes the thesis.
A Valarth business-model card for State Bank of India, with a plain-language summary and statements verified against the filing.
Business modelHow a company makes money and what can hurt it, each statement checked against its annual report.
Valarth's Before the Bell edition, with the day's headline, regulator notes and sector moves.
Before the BellA morning edition before the market opens: what moved, which rule changed, and what it means for your holdings.
Share or embed this page
A link posted on X, Reddit, LinkedIn or WhatsApp shows this picture as its preview. The embedded picture always shows the latest figures.

Questions people ask

Who makes India's medicines?

21 listed companies report their revenue from medicines: Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd (SUNPHARMA), Aurobindo Pharma Ltd (AUROPHARMA), Cipla Ltd (CIPLA), Lupin Ltd (LUPIN), Zydus Lifesciences Ltd (ZYDUSLIFE), Glenmark Pharmaceuticals Ltd (GLENMARK), Alkem Laboratories Ltd (ALKEM), Mankind Pharma Ltd (MANKIND).

Which listed company earns the most from medicines in India?

Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, with revenue from medicines of ₹52,578 crore in FY25: 19.0% of the listed companies' total here.

How much do listed companies earn from medicines?

The listed companies here earned ₹276,537 crore from medicines in FY25. Private makers are not included.

Which listed company makes the most profit from medicines?

Glaxosmithkline Pharmaceuticals Ltd: its operating profit was 33.6% of its revenue from medicines in FY25.

Who owns Foracort?

Foracort is a brand of Cipla Ltd, listed on the NSE as CIPLA.

Who owns Galvus?

Galvus is a brand of Cipla Ltd, listed on the NSE as CIPLA.

Who owns Gibtulio®?

Gibtulio® is a brand of Lupin Ltd, listed on the NSE as LUPIN.

Who owns Huminsulin®?

Huminsulin® is a brand of Lupin Ltd, listed on the NSE as LUPIN.

Who owns Bilypsa®?

Bilypsa® is a brand of Zydus Lifesciences Ltd, listed on the NSE as ZYDUSLIFE.

Who owns Lipaglyn®?

Lipaglyn® is a brand of Zydus Lifesciences Ltd, listed on the NSE as ZYDUSLIFE.

Who owns Pan?

Pan is a brand of Alkem Laboratories Ltd, listed on the NSE as ALKEM.

Who owns Pan-D?

Pan-D is a brand of Alkem Laboratories Ltd, listed on the NSE as ALKEM.

Who owns Vonalong?

Vonalong is a brand of Mankind Pharma Ltd, listed on the NSE as MANKIND.

Who owns Vonatime?

Vonatime is a brand of Mankind Pharma Ltd, listed on the NSE as MANKIND.